Wednesday, July 6, 2022     [ login ]


Two CIMNE scientists have been awarded SEMNI Prizes in its 2021 edition

Published: 08/03/2022

David CodonyA commission chaired by the president of SEMNI Elías Cueto has unanimously deliberated that the Best Thesis of the Year 2021 is the one defended by David Codony. Currently Severo Ochoa Post Doc Trainee at the Mechanics of Electroactive Materials research team, David Codony's thesis is entitled "Mathematical and computational modeling of flexoelectricity at mesoscopic and atomistic scales" and was directed by Professor Irene Arias. This thesis will also represent SEMNI in the European award granted by ECCOMAS.

Matteo GiacominiOn the other hand, Dr. Matteo Giacomini, Serra Hunter assistant professor at the UPC and member of the Credible data-diven Models group at CIMNE, has been awarded the Juan C. Simó Prize. It has to be highlighted also that Matteo Giacomini occupied a Severo Ochoa Researcher position at CIMNE in 2020.

The award ceremony will take place next September at the Numerical Methods Congress to be held in Las Palmas.